A Dry Bilge - Finally!

Post your technical questions or solutions about your boat's plumbing here.

Moderator: KenKrawford

Windseeker

A Dry Bilge - Finally!

Post by Windseeker »

I’ve been fighting for a dry bilge for almost 10 years now. I thought my keel bolts were leaking or it coming through a hatch or something because I could not find any plumbing leaks. This year I disconnected the bilge drain line, removed the check valve and vacuumed out the bilge. Guess what? A dry bilge - finally - even after some heavy rains. I figured the water must have been seeping back through the check valve. I looked at putting some rubber washers in the valve, but it would not seat properly. THE FIX: Plumbers Silicone. I smeared it all around in the inside seat and flapper. Put it all back together and Voila! It worked. I finally have a dry bilge!

Well, that was until a Hot Water crimp connection came un-glued.
s/v: Wind Seeker
Hull #75
Chester River - Chesapeake Bay
Pgtjs

Re: A Dry Bilge - Finally!

Post by Pgtjs »

Hi there, I have tried your solution and so far it seems to work in that I have a dry bilge - but it has not rained lately. Did you check where the cables enter from the mast. I have not lifted the mast and am not sure what appertures exist from the seat into the superstructure. Where else did you check for water entry? I seem to recall someone mentioned a psssible entry from the anchor locker but I could not see one. I also know that when I burp the Dripless Cutless bearing and when I clean out the raw water filter some water may get down to the bilge.

One other issue. I think two of my keelbolts are leaking very slightly - there is some rust around them whereas all the others are dry and clean. I think Catalina must have coated the bolts at the factory as there is a plastic type "painted" seat which covers a small amount of the bolt except on the two with the little bit of rust.