Engine DC Power On/Off Switch - What does it do?

Post your technical questions or solutions about your boat's electrical systems or electronics here.

Moderator: KenKrawford

SkuffedKeel

Engine DC Power On/Off Switch - What does it do?

Post by SkuffedKeel »

Hello everyone,

I'm still learning my first boat and I'm struggling to understand what this Engine DC Power switch does, and whether it should ever be switched to the OFF position. I've gone through the manual but can only seem to find reference to the Main Battery Select switch.

I believe I understand the Main Battery Select, but please correct me if I'm wrong.

When the engine is running or on shore power:

If set to 1 then only the house bank will be charged
If set to 2 then only the starter battery will be charged
If set to both then the house bank and starter battery will be charged

When the engine is not running and I'm not connected to shore power:

If set to 1 then only the house bank will be used to run the accessories
If set to 2 then only the starter battery will be used to run the accessories
If set to both then the house bank and starter battery will be used to run the accessories

If set to both when starting the engine, will both the house bank and starter battery be used to start it?

So, going back to the reason for my post (assuming everything above is correct) would switching the Engine DC Power to off stop the engine/alternator from charging the batteries, and, if this is the case, would the alternator not be damaged if I started the engine with it in the off position?

Thank you in advance!
IMG_1344.jpeg
IMG_1344.jpeg (212.18 KiB) Viewed 1013 times
"Senja"
C350 # 137
Nanaimo, BC
KenKrawford

Re: Engine DC Power On/Off Switch - What does it do?

Post by KenKrawford »